It's no secret that sharing a Netflix password happens all the time. People with accounts give their passwords and login information to family and friends.

However, despite efforts in the past, not much has been done to stop it. That will probably change very soon though, as Netflix prepares to rollout a plan that stops that password sharing.

According to WGRZ, Netflix is testing a system that is designed to end password sharing.

The feature, which is currently being tested with some Netflix accounts, brings up a screen that reads, "If you don't live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching."

If you want to keep watching your TV show or movie, you will then have to verify you own the account with a code sent via text or email.

There is a question of whether or not the account owner would then send the code to the family member or friend trying to watch? We'll have to see if there's a plan for that, but perhaps that's the loophole to this new feature that Netflix has introduced.

"This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so," a Netflix spokesperson told multiple outlets. The site's terms of use states "Account Owner should maintain control over the Netflix ready devices that are used to access the service and not reveal the password or details of the Payment Method associated to the account to anyone."

Right now, Netflix isn't sure if they will roll with this feature to all their customers, as a way to crack down on password sharing; instead, it might be just for account security.

Get our free mobile app

It seems like the Netflix password sharing saga has gone on for years, but will this be the feature that stops it? Time will tell.

How long it takes to binge 'The Office,' 'Game of Thrones,' and 50 other famous TV shows