New York School Bus Safety Laws: What You Need To Know
Now that we are in Back To School mode across New York State it is a good time to remind drivers of the laws about school bus safety.
Feel Good Mornings With Dave Fields Mon-Fri 6am-10am
There are certain things that every driver on the road in New York should know when it comes to school buses and how to act when you are on the roadways with them.
When Can I Pass A School Bus?
You may pass a school bus when it is moving and it does not have its lights on and flashing.
When the bus has yellow flashing lights it means the bus is preparing to stop to load or unload children. Slow down and prepare to stop your vehicle.
When the bus has red flashing lights it means the bus has stopped and children are getting on or off. Stop your vehicle and wait until the school bus resumes motion or until you are signaled to start moving again.
When Do I Have To Stop For A School Bus?
When a school bus stops and flashes its red lights, traffic approaching from either direction must stop before reaching the bus. This includes a bus that is stopped on a two-lane road, on multi-lane highways, or on divided highways.
What Happens If I Violate The Bus Safety Laws?
There are consequences for violating the bus safety laws in New York. This includes both fines and possible jail time.
- First conviction - fine of $250-$400 and/or up to 30 days in jail
- A second conviction within 3 years - fine of $600-$750 and/or up to 180 days in jail
- Third conviction (or more) within 3 years - fine of $750-$1000 and/or up to 180 days in jail
You will also get points added to your driver's license if you are convicted of violating the New York bus safety rules.
The best thing to do when the school buses are back on the road is to slow down, pay attention, and come to a complete stop at least 20 feet away from the bus.